I’m Too Fast For Facebook
I’m working on a story for our June 11 edition about La Fiesta de las Seis Banderas, and I needed to get in touch with some of last year’s duchesses. So I started searching for them in Facebook and sending them messages through the site. Quick and simple, right? Apparently, I was too quick. This warning popped up more than once:
Warning! You are engaging in behavior that may be considered annoying or abusive by other users.
Facebook’s systems determined that you were going too fast when sending messages. You must significantly slow down. Further misuse of site features may result in a temporary block or your account being permanently disabled.
Each time it came up, I was asked to type in a couple of captcha words. I had no problem doing that, as I thought it proved I wasn’t an auto-spam program. But after I composed a couple more messages, this popped up on the screen:
Block! You are engaging in behavior that may be considered annoying or abusive by other users.
You have been blocked from sending messages because you repeatedly misused this feature. This block will last anywhere from a few hours to a few days. When you are allowed to reuse this feature, please proceed with caution. Further misuse may result in your account being permanently disabled.