HP Defensive Coordinator Heads to Jesuit


Don Woods, right, orchestrated the Highland Park defense during Class 5A Division I state title seasons in 2016 and 2017. (Photo: Melissa Macatee)

The architect of the defensive units that helped Highland Park win the past two Class 5A Division I state championships is leaving the school.

Don Woods, who has been the defensive coordinator for the Scots since 2014 and is known for his focus on fundamentals, will take the defensive coordinator job at Jesuit.

Woods has been on the defensive staff at HP for the past eight years. He also has coached at several other stops, including Rockwall-Heath, Mesquite Horn, and Lake Highlands.

Dallas Summer Musicals Honors Hockaday Graduate


One Dallas native followed her dreams all the way to the Great White Way.

Dallas native and Tony Award winner Victoria Clark was announced Wednesday as the 2018 recipient of the Leah Jerome M. Fullinwider Award, honoring her for her impact in the Dallas theater community and beyond.

Meet The Candidates for May 5 Local Elections


Highland Park, University Park, and HPISD will all have a space on the May 5 ballot.

The Town of Highland Park has two candidates rivaling for Mayor; six candidates are vying for four at-large spots on the UP city council, and two will make a play for the contended HPISD place 2 board of trustee position.

Scots Rolling Into Jesuit Showdown


Cooper Kneese and Highland Park will carry a seven-game winning streak into Friday's showdown against rival Jesuit. (Photo: Chris McGathey)

Highland Park earned its seventh consecutive win with a 15-2 thumping of Rockwall on Tuesday at Highlander Stadium, which followed a 13-6 home victory over Plano West on April 13.

The Scots (10-3) have tallied double-digit goals in five of their past six games and have outscored opponents by a combined 85-27 during the winning streak.

HP will close the regular season with games against two rivals. The Scots will host defending state champion Jesuit in their home finale on Friday, followed by a game at St. Mark’s on April 26.

Artist Award Given


The Meadows Museum at SMU announced that Giovanni Valderas has won the 2017 Moss/Chumley North Texas Artist Award. The award is given annually to an outstanding North Texas artist who has exhibited professionally for at least 10 years and has established a proven track record as a community advocate for the visual arts. Two of Valderas’s mixed-media works, Ay Te Miro (2016) and Apaciguate (2017) will be on view at the museum throughout April. The artist will give a free gallery talk at 6 p.m. April 26 at the museum.

Six Tips for Reducing Health Care Expenses


Understand your health plan coverage so you can get the most out of your plan, stay healthier, and even help save money in 2018.

Fully understanding how your health plan works not only can help reduce your out-of-pocket costs but also avoid surprise bills.

The following tips can help you get the most out of your benefits: